Why are People Such Jerks about Food?

I should print this out and give it out to haters

I read Kate’s post last week about being a “chicken vegetarian,” and I found myself nodding in agreement. However, I loves me some meat. I eat paleo, which means I consume only meat, fruits, veggies, and nuts (I also tack on dairy). But even though I scarf down steak like a red-blooded American, I still get condescending remarks and “concerns” about my health. I’m pretty much ready for it to stop. Like, yesterday.

Obese and overweight people encounter this phenomenon all the time, and I’m sad to say it’s not just them. For thin people it’s the “eat a sandwich” movement. I’m neither of those things, and I still get it. It’s like everyone has a degree in nutrition they didn’t tell me about. So what’s the deal?

It’s not because these people care so much about the health of everyone around them. If it were, they’d kindly sit down the girl who chokes down six Red Bulls during the day. They wouldn’t be tolerant of the people who regularly come to work hungover. In fact, it’s more common to see contests with regards to these habits, to see who can abuse their bodies better than their friends.

When it comes right down to it, I think that, unlike our consumption of religion, politics, music, or sex, where most people recognize that there’s not one right way to do things, people tend to think that there is only a narrow set of foods to eat. The government Society has been selling us one diet since we were children, and we think that, since that information is based on government agricultural subsidies science, much like two plus two, there can only be one answer. This brings us to:

SOMEONE’S a little judgmental

News Flash #1

Scientists (and their work) don’t always agree. In fact, they more frequently disagree than agree. For just about every scientific study that comes out there are five others that produce different results. This puts your diet in just the same amount of flux as any other aspect of your life. You are not so right.

News Flash #2

Human bodies are different! If I proclaimed that no one ought to drink milk, you’d look at me funny—and for good reason. Not everyone is lactose intolerant. What constitutes an effective diet is going to differ based on genetics, psychology, and environment. That’s how it’s supposed to be.

We are lucky enough to live in a society that supports all manner of diets. We have a wealth of food available to us. Every person gets to choose what works best for them, just like our religions, philosophies, politics, and sex.

So, please, stop telling me that I’m going to die at 32 because bacon constitutes 30% of my lunch that day. You’re not a nutritionist, and even if you were I’d tell you that I feel great and that you can kindly fuck off. Henceforth, I will just assume you’re jealous of my food. Sucker.

2 thoughts on “Why are People Such Jerks about Food?

  1. When I mention how much bacon and eggs I eat for breakfast (all of the bacon and eggs), I always get the most disapproving look of disapproval, especially from overweight folks. They say “well, you just have a high metabolism and you probably have horrible cholesterol.” Nope! Great lipid panel, thanks! I found what works for me, so butt out.

Leave a Reply

