Gorgeous Brunette Seeks Hair Care Products, Styling Tips, for Long, Luscious Locks

As previously mentioned, I am getting married. Notice how I didn’t say “soon.” One of my big goals between now and the Big Day is to grow my hair out so that I can achieve this “do.”

If you haven’t noticed, I have a thing for medieval fashion

However, as life would have it, I don’t actually have a lot of experience dealing with long hair; I chopped off my locks when I was 15 and rocked an angled bob until I was 21. Now I am nearly three years into my hair-growing experiment, and I find myself thinking that I should probably take better care of my hair. It’s breaking off, frizzing up, and sad that I don’t do more with it on a day-to-day basis.

So, friends, I put it to you.  Help a girl out?  What should I do to make my tresses love me again? Here’s my regular routine:

Cleaning

Its main appeal is that it’s usually $0.79 at CVS

Pantene is rich and creamy, hence its appeal

Styling

This was my attempt to get my frizz under control. I can’t vouch for its effectiveness.

I have a much higher-quality flat iron. However, it’s only 1″. This is 2″

I do currently dye my hair, mostly to cover up gray at this point. I am not so bad as to dye my own hair (anymore). I shell out the dolla-dollas to get it cut and dyed professionally, though I could probably stand to do it more often.

I am open to any and all suggestions, particularly new styling tips (ones that take no more than 30 minutes, please). I’m willing to spend a little more money on this, seeing as how I’m a grown up with a job and can afford such things.

Alright, Tea To Friends: Whatcha got for me?

Help me, Tea To Friends! You’re my only hope!

2 thoughts on “Gorgeous Brunette Seeks Hair Care Products, Styling Tips, for Long, Luscious Locks

  1. Don’t use VO5. My stylist always told me it leaves behind, for lack of a better word, gunk that will weigh your hair down and clog the cuticles of the hair. Pantene is good. Once a week, I wash with Johnson’s baby shampoo, followed by a good conditioner left in for a few minutes before being washed out. My hair always feels cleaner and more conditioned.

    If you are going to flat iron, a protector is a must. Either creme or spray, put in when the hair is still damp. And NEVER flat iron wet hair, that will do more damage than could ever be good. And get a good leave in conditioner, like BioSilk (always my go to and favorite). Put it on after every wash when your hair is still damp before you do any styling. Don’t use a hair brush on damp hair. Get a wide,big tooth comb and start combing from the bottom up, never pulling out snarls.

    I think that’s about the extent of my knowledge. I am growing mine out as well so always follow these “rules”.

  2. 3 Rules
    1.) Do not wash your hair everyday
    2.) Vinegar cold water rinse
    3.) No heat

    I literally have people stop me in stores and ask me how I keep my hair shiny, full of volume, and soft (and if I’m going to be a bit vain about it, I’m rather proud of my hair and tbh it’s my only redeeming feature at the moment). There are 2 ways I achieve this.

    Option 1. Baking soda and apple cider vinegar.
    – My number one rule is I don’t use shampoo. Most shampoos contain harmful ingredients for your hair and scalp, many of them used in laundry detergent (and I don’t know about you, but I’m not using detergent in my hair) and almost all of them leave reside behind. 1 tablespoon of baking soda mixed with 1 cup of water works as an excellent shampoo. Scrub it in, let it sit for 30 seconds-ish and then rinse it out. Vinegar is a natural detangler and conditioner. 1 tablespoon of vinegar mixed with 1 cup of water. I pour it in my hair and make sure it soaks in and leave it for about 30 seconds. I always rinse with cold/lukewarm water. I think it makes my hair shinier. Do this every other day.
    – Pros: this is cheap (I spend $10 for 3-4 months of hair care)
    – Cons: for the 1st week or 2 your hair will be greasy. Your scalp naturally produces sebum (the oily stuff) and if you are a chronic shampooer, it produces way more than it should (and shampooing every day is bad for your hair anyway). After a week or so your scalp will regulate itself. I only had to wash my hair every 4-5 days because it no longer produced all the sebum

    I had to stop that method because I have bad dandruff and it while it was okay for a while, it went insane and I looked like a snowglobe. no fun.

    Option 2. Lush.
    – The only shampoos I have found that don’t leave hair dull are the shampoos at Lush (lushusa.com). I used ‘Soak and Float’ (designed for dandruff) as well as ‘Squeaky Green’. They also sell conditioners, but to be honest I still use vinegar as my conditioner.
    – Pros- easier than above method
    – Cons- depending on amount of hair, LUSH bars can be fairly expensive

    If you’re a bit hesitant in the ‘not-washing-everyday’ thing, try a vinegar rinse for conditioner and rinse it out with cold water.

    If you need a deep conditioning, use coconut oil. You can get a jar of it at Whole Foods for $10-15 and as you only need a tablespoon at a time, it lasts forever. I leave it in overnight sometimes

    Also, I never use any sort of heat on my hair (blow driers, irons, etc). Instead I do a method called headband curls (which does take some practice at first) but it doable in 5 minutes and leaves me with 3 days of different hair styles. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Rdfgu3zqY4

    that’s a decent tutorial on how to do it. I wear it up with the headband on the first day, down with the curls on the 2nd day, and up in a loose ponytail on the 3rd day.

    …. sorry for a long comment. email me/facebook me if you have more questions. I’m kind of a hair freak.

Leave a Reply

