Oh My God, I’m Moving Across the Country! Oh My God. I’m Moving Across The Country.

You know that scene in Tangled where Rapunzel flip flops back and forth between having the best day ever and feeling awful about being the worst daughter possible? Yeah, that’s me right now. And I haven’t even done anything yet.

Last May I graduated from the University of Arizona with one goal in mind: Move to Boston. Did I have a job lined up? Not really. Did I have a place to live? Not at all. Did I even have the cash for a plane ticket? Not even sort of. Truthfully, I didn’t have much of a plan. I just really wanted it. I don’t care what The Secret says, I crashed and burned. Bad.

“Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently,” Henry Ford said. So far, this seems to be true. Or maybe after failing so badly I had to prove to my parents — and more importantly, myself  — that I wasn’t a total loser and that I could do this. Fast forward to last Sunday. It is a uncharacteristically wet weekend in my hometown of Tucson, Arizona. I, however, am enjoying an unseasonably warm weekend in Boston, where I just signed a lease.

Take that all you doubters, I’m doing it, I’m going to live in the city I’ve been dreaming of my whole life. I am going to up and move across the country more or less on a whim.

Oh, my God. I’m moving across the country. What am I thinking? I’ve lived in one zip code my whole life. What makes me think I’ll make it out in the big city? Actually, what makes me think I’ll survive winter. With snow?

But I’m moving to Boston. WGBH, my dream job, is just a fifteen minute walk from my new digs. The same sort of opportunities just aren’t in Tucson.

But all my friends and family are in Tucson…

See what I mean about Tangled? I’m a mess. I have complained in the past that your twenties are rough. They refuse to just give you what you need to succeed, and every day can be a bit of a struggle. There was one thing I didn’t mention then: if I can get what I want, just what is that? And what am I willing to trade for it? They don’t really prepare you for that in college. And I haven’t been in a situation where I might trade my chocolate milk for someone’s goldfish in years. Do I still know how to weigh my choices and make a decision that won’t end up sucking?

Obviously, I’ve made my decision. I will be leaving my native Tucson for Boston in August of this year. And honestly, even if this ends up not being the city for me, even if every single day I pine for the heat and the saguaros I know so well, this is the right decision. One other thing I didn’t mention about being in you twenties: this is the time to try new things. I will probably never have as much freedom as I do now, nor will I require so little. Apparently when you reach a certain age you have living standards that exclude awkward bathrooms and blow up mattresses.

As my teaching idol Ms. Frizzle says, “It’s time to take chances, make mistakes, and get messy!”

Alright future failures, let’s do this thing.

11 thoughts on “Oh My God, I’m Moving Across the Country! Oh My God. I’m Moving Across The Country.

  1. Yay! Congratulations on getting your dream job and making such a big change. You’re coming here at the perfect time – we are enjoying incredibly beautiful weather and as a result, us surly Bostonians are in unusually friendly moods. Welcome!

    • From one Boston girl to another–congratulations and welcome! Enjoy today’s dosage of perfect weather and drink the kool-aid. Your Bruins attire is part of your welcome package. (But, actually: http://cache.boston.com/globe/2011/06/15/today.jpeg)

      But besides my taking the opportunity to say nice things about my city, as I always do, Congratulations on moving! You’re so right to say that your 20s are about trying things that may or may not fail. Because the things that are outside your comfort zone are same things that make life interesting and meaningful.

      And, I can tell from your post that you are excited about the move–and, in my experience, that’s half the battle of liking where you move! Let me know if you need any Boston tips or if you want to know someone when you get here!

  2. As they say, no pain, no gain! You have to take big risks to experience big rewards. I experienced the duality of excitement and terror when I moved to DC from California after graduating UA. I had no job, but all the “little details” worked themselves out in time. You’ll kill it there. Good luck! Boston is an amazing city.

  3. Pingback: Relocation, and Why It’s Not Quite as Scary as You Think | Serving Tea To Friends

  4. Pingback: AHHH! | Chapter 14 Boston

  5. I came across your post today. I’m 42 and I just made a huge change and moved from Chicago to NY after being in Chicago for 20 years. I originally grew up in NY (suburbs of NYC), and am now back in the area close to where I grew up, but nothing looks familiar. I always had a “dream” of moving back to the east coast and here I am, feeling incredibly insecure and out of sorts, not the “dream” I had before I moved. I’m a freelance children’s musician, so I’m piecing work together with teaching and performing and I think that part will be okay, it’s just all the rest….left all my friends, and even a year and a half relationship. I’ve only been here a week, so I know I need to give it time.

    Did you make it to Boston? Good luck on your move! It’s good to take chances in life and yes, your 20s is a great time to do that! I had moved to Chicago at 22, after college, and I remember that feeling of moving to a brand new place. Having that feeling all over again! I do have lots of cousins/aunts/uncles here, so that’s good.

    • I did make it. I’ve been here for a few weeks and I think I’m beginning to get the hang of it! I’ve gotten really lucky with my rooming situation and have some built in friends, am starting a new job next week, and one of my favorite local (to Tucson) bands is preforming here so I can get a little taste of home. Thank you for stopping by and I hope NYC turns out to be everything you hoped! Have fun there!

  6. This is an awesome article, I’m glad you made your dream move to Boston happen! I did the same thing after high-school and moved to AZ (Phoenix) without a plan…where I crashed and burned haha. I eventually put the pieces back together and am living it up in the state you left. The pursuit of happiness is what its all about, and most people never take the leap…so kudos for actually doing it!

  7. This is an awesome article, I’m glad you made your dream move to Boston happen! I did the same thing after high-school and moved to AZ (Phoenix) without a plan…where I crashed and burned haha. I eventually put the pieces back together and am living it up in the state you left. The pursuit of happiness is what its all about, and most people never take the leap…so kudos for actually doing it!

  8. Pingback: Home Again, Home Again… | Chapter 14 Boston

Leave a Reply

